Skip to main content

Library collections: Home

General collections

Books can be borrowed from the general collection for a period 2-3 weeks depending on the type of patron. 

Short Loan

Books that are on high demand can be borrowed for a period of 7 days only. It can be renewed if there are no reservations made for the book.

Course Reserve

Books in this section are strictly for reference only. This collection includes the core textbooks for all the modules.

Theses & Dissertation

Library houses University student’s work. These are for Library access and only five percent of the content is photocopied. Abstracts are available through the library iPortal.

Electronic resources

These are organised on the University Library iportal by subject area to facilitate access to those resources relevant to a particular field of study or research.  The University Library maintains on its iportal a searchable catalogue of all print and non-print materials as well as links to all of the electronic resources it holds, including:

  • E-journals;
  • Electronic reference materials including dictionaries, encyclopaedias, and newspapers;
  • Databases providing bibliographic references to literature in specific subject areas, abstracts, and synopses of literature and, in some instances, full-text articles;
  • Networked CD-ROMS encompassing bibliographic databases, reference works, and textbooks; and
  • Web-based resources such as online databases, bibliographic resources, subject gateways and search tools.