Skip to main content
Department: MSc Engineering Management
Module Description: Introducing the concepts and applications of modern energy management practices. Topics covered will include the need and impact of energy management, types and equipment used in energy auditing. The economic aspects of energy sourcing, purchase and use. Economic assessment of alternative decision-making approaches based on present worth, payback period and Life Cycle Costing. The range of available financing options.
- Ahuja, A. (1997). Integrated M/E design. Chapman & Hall.
- ASHRAE Guideline 0-2013. (2013). The commissioning process.
- Atkin, B. & Brooks, A. (2015). Total facilities management. 4th edn. Wiley-Blackwell.
- Awbi, H. (2008). Ventilation systems: design and performance. Taylor & Francis.
- Bokalders, V. & Block, M. (2010). The whole building handbook. Earthscan.
- Breeze, P. (2014). Power generation technologies. 2nd edn. Newnes-Elsevier.
- Bownass, D. (2001). Building services design methodology: a practical guide. Taylor and Francis.
- Chanter, B. & Swallow, P. (2007). Building maintenance management. Blackwell Publishing.
- CIBSE Guides A -C.
- Deutsche Gesellschaft für Sonnenenergie. (2013). Planning & installing photovoltaic systems. 3rd edn. Earthscan.
- Doty, S. & Turner, W. (2012). Energy management handbook. 8th edn. CRC Press.
- Gellings, C. (2009). The smart grid, enabling energy efficiency and demand response. CRC Press.
- Hall., F. & Greeno, R. (2017). Building services handbook. 9th edn. Butterworth-Heinemann.
- Harvey, L. (2006). A handbook on low-energy buildings and district-energy system. Earthscan.
- Hordeski. M. (2003). New technologies for energy efficiency. Marcel Dekker.
- International Energy Agency. (2003). Solar energy houses: strategies, technologies and examples. 2nd edn. Earthscan.
- Kreider, J., Cyrtiss, P. & Rabl, A. (2017). Heating and cooling of buildings: principles and practice of energy efficient design. 3rd edn. CRC Press.
- Kreith, F. & Goswami, D. (2015). Energy efficiency and renewable energy handbook. 2nd edn. CRC Press.
- Kreith, F. & Goswami, D. (2017). Energy management and conservation handbook. 2nd edn. CRC Press.
- Laughton, C. (2010). Solar domestic water heating. Earthscan.
- Parsloe, C. (2005). CIBSE sustainable low energy cooling. London: CIBSE.
- Payant, R. & Lewis, B. (2007). Facility manager’s maintenance handbook. 2nd edn. McGraw-Hill.
- Roulet, C. (2008). Ventilation and airflow in buildings. Earthscan.
- Stein, B., Reynolds, J., Grondzik, W. & Kwok, A. (2014). Mechanical and electrical equipment for buildings. 12th edn. John Wiley and Sons.
- Teicholoz, E. (2001). Facility design and management handbook. McGraw-Hill.
- Thumann, A. & Mehta, P. (2013). Handbook of energy engineering. 7th edn. CRC Press.
- Wood, B. (2009). Building maintenance. Wiley-Blackwell.