Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer science: Home

   Need Help...

  • Finding books
  • Finding articles
  • Choosing the right resource
  • Evaluating sources

          

Key databases

EBSCO Computer Applied Science

Computer Applied Science is a full-text database covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines. It is especially useful to researchers studying the business and social implications of new technology. 

ProQuest Technology Collection

A multidisciplinary content collection of scholarly and technical material covering advanced technologies, engineering, material sciences, computer sciences and related disciplines. Faculty, graduate, and post-graduate students will find comprehensive coverage from thousands of full-text titles including peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, books/monographs, conference proceedings, reports, newswires, video material, and much more.

Relevant databases

EBSCO Academic Search Complete  

Academic Search Complete database is designed for academic institutions and is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Content includes nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines, 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, 4,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo and 4,000 active full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus.

 Science Direct Freedom Collection

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection refers to access to the full text of articles of over 3,800 journals on a high quality articles from the journals in all subject collections published by Elsevier Science. This is an access-only model beginning from the date of the existing ScienceDirect subscription with a minimum of four backfile years, plus the current year.

 

Login with your Library account when prompted to access the database.

Key journals

  • ACM International Conference on Autonomic Computing 
  • ACM Transactions on Asian Language Information Processing (TALIP) 
  • ACM transactions on computer-human interaction (Full Text: 04/01/2009 to Present)
  • Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems 
  • Computational Linguistics Journal (Open access journal )
  • Computers in Human Behaviour  (Open access journal )
  • Human Computer Interaction (Full Text: 03/01/1985 to 18 months ago)
  • IEEE International Conference on Parallel and Distributed Systems 
  • IEEE International Symposium on High-Performance Distributed Computing 
  • IEEE Transactions on Computers 
  • IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems 
  • International Conference on Autonomous Agents & Multiagent Systems (AAMAS) (Hard copies available in the library for old editions) 
  • International Conference on Computational Linguistics (COLING)
  • International Conference on Machine Learning (ICML) 
  • Natural Language Engineering (Full Text: 03/01/1985 to 1 year ago)
  • Social Network Analysis and Mining  
  • Social Networks (Full Text: 2012 to present)

 

Login with your Library account when prompted to access the database.

Articles from journals that are not available in the library can be requested through article request service

 

Image result for DSpace

BSpace is the BUiD instituitional repository that has a collection of 900+ student’s works submitted electronically accessible through to the World Wide Web.

Search BUiD doctoral theses

Search BUiD masteral dissertations

Image result for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.

Subject coverage

  • Business and Economics
  • Medical Sciences
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Agriculture
  • Social Sciences
  • Arts
  • Humanities
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

PQDT Open

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access. 

The reading list provides you access to the materials recommended by your tutors. These include print/eBooks, articles, book chapters & conference papers. It links you directly to the readings in WorldCat and gives you real-time information about the availabilty of books. The articles can be downloaded using your Library account details. 

Select the module listed alphabetically to access the readings. 

Or type the course code (e.g. INF 510) 

arXiv® is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University. It allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository at no charge. 

Usenix

Since 1975, USENIX, the Advanced Computing Systems Association, has brought together the community of engineers, system administrators, scientists, and technicians working on the cutting edge of the computing world. The USENIX conferences have become the essential meeting grounds for the presentation and discussion of the most advanced information on the developments of all aspects of computing systems.

Webopedia

Online Tech Dictionary for Students, Educators and IT Professionals

W3Schools

The W3School offers free courses in web design covering HTML, CSS, SQL, PHP, Javascript, and JQuery 

Disclaimer: *The University is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.