Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics: Home

   Need Help...

  • Finding books
  • Finding articles
  • Choosing the right resource
  • Evaluating sources

          

Key databases

EBSCO Business Source Complete  

Business Source Complete database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes nearly 2,200 active full-text journals and magazines, 1,300 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, 780 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo and 860 active full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus.

Proquest ABI/Inform Global   

ABI/Inform Global contains full text access to more than 2,400 business journals with abstracts for an additional 1,000 titles.  Subjects covered include accounting, computing, economics, finance, government, HRM, international business, IT, management, marketing, PR and organizational psychology. Also includes market research, industry reports, company profiles and business cases.

Science Direct Freedom Collection

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection refers to access to the full text of articles of over 3,800 journals on a high quality articles from the journals in all subject collections published by Elsevier Science. This is an access-only model beginning from the date of the existing ScienceDirect subscription with a minimum of four backfile years, plus the current year.

Relevant databases

EBSCO Academic Search Complete  

Academic Search Complete database is designed for academic institutions and is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Content includes nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines, 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, 4,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo and 4,000 active full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus.

Emerald Management Plus 

Emerald Management Plus is a collection of over 300 full-text e-journals from 24 management disciplines, including accounting and finance, built environment, enterprise and innovation, human resources, information and knowledge management, marketing, tourism, and more.

 

Login with your Library account when prompted to access the database.

Image result for DSpace

BSpace is the BUiD instituitional repository that has a collection of 900+ student’s works submitted electronically accessible through to the World Wide Web.

Search BUiD doctoral theses

Search BUiD masteral dissertations

Image result for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.

Subject coverage

  • Business and Economics
  • Medical Sciences
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Agriculture
  • Social Sciences
  • Arts
  • Humanities
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

PQDT Open

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access. 

The reading list provides you access to the materials recommended by your tutors. These include print/eBooks, articles, book chapters & conference papers. It links you directly to the readings in WorldCat and gives you real-time information about the availabilty of books. The articles can be downloaded using your Library account details. 

Select the module listed alphabetically to access the readings. 

Or type the course code (e.g. MGT 510) 

IDEAS

IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,800,000 items of research, including over 2,600,000 that can be downloaded in full text. 

UK Data Service

The UK Data Service is funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) to meet the data needs of researchers, students and teachers. Data users can browse the collections online and register to analyse and download them.

Disclaimer: *The University is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.