Skip to main content

Earth & environmental sciences: Home

   Need Help...

  • Finding books
  • Finding articles
  • Choosing the right resource
  • Evaluating sources

          

Key databases

EBSCO Academic Search Complete  

Academic Search Complete database is designed for academic institutions and is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Content includes nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines, 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, 4,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo and 4,000 active full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus.

EBSCO Greenfile

EBSCO Greenfile is a free research database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.

Science Direct Freedom Collection

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection refers to access to the full text of articles of over 3,800 journals on a high quality articles from the journals in all subject collections published by Elsevier Science. This is an access-only model beginning from the date of the existing ScienceDirect subscription with a minimum of four backfile years, plus the current year.

Relevant databases

Ei Compendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world. It provides a truly holistic and global view of peer reviewed and indexed publications with over 20 million records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. Every record is carefully selected and indexed using the Engineering Index Thesaurus to ensure discovery and retrieval of engineering-specific literature that engineering students and professionals can rely on. By using Ei Compendex, engineers can be confident information is relevant, complete, accurate and of high quality.
 

Sage Humanities & Social Sciences Collection

The SAGE Humanities and Social Science (HSS) provides access to 697 journals, including leading international peer-reviewed titles, many of which are ranked in the 2016 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2017). SAGE offers more choices—all on one familiar platform—to better suit the demands of your consortium members for SAGE journal content.

Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities Collection  

Taylor & Francis Online is the home of over 2,400 online journals across Science, Technology and Medicine and Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities. The Social Sciences & Humanities Collection covers the subject areas like Anthropology & Archaeology, Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Psychology, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Sociology & Related Disciplines etc.

 

Login with your Library account when prompted to access the database.

Key journals

 

Login with your Library account when prompted to access the database.

Articles from journals that are not available in the library can be requested through article request service

Image result for DSpace

BSpace is the BUiD instituitional repository that has a collection of 900+ student’s works submitted electronically accessible through to the World Wide Web.

Search BUiD doctoral theses

Search BUiD masteral dissertations

Image result for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.

Subject coverage

  • Business and Economics
  • Medical Sciences
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Agriculture
  • Social Sciences
  • Arts
  • Humanities
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

PQDT Open

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access. 

The reading list provides you access to the materials recommended by your tutors. These include print/eBooks, articles, book chapters & conference papers. It links you directly to the readings in WorldCat and gives you real-time information about the availabilty of books. The articles can be downloaded using your Library account details. 

Select the module listed alphabetically to access the readings. 

Or type the course code (e.g. SDBE 510) 

OECD.org

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Together with governments, policy makers and citizens, OECD work on establishing international norms and finding evidence-based solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges.

Disclaimer: *The University is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.