Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science education: Home

   Need Help...

  • Finding books
  • Finding articles
  • Choosing the right resource
  • Evaluating sources

          

Key Databases

EBSCO Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Contents include full text for more than 1,300 education journals, 530 books and monographs, 2,300 education-related conference papers and indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 journals.

​​EBSCO Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection includes full text for high-quality education journals and can be accessed via EBSCOhost or Explora, EBSCO's dedicated interface for schools and public libraries. Contents include more than 460 full-text journals, 750 abstracted and indexed journals, 530 peer-reviewed, abstracted and indexed journals and 230 educational reports.

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. It contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Contents include more than 1.6 million records, links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents, education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms and coverage dating back to 1966.

Sage Humanities & Social Sciences Collection

The SAGE Humanities and Social Science (HSS) provides access to 697 journals, including leading international peer-reviewed titles, many of which are ranked in the 2016 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2017). SAGE offers more choices—all on one familiar platform—to better suit the demands of your consortium members for SAGE journal content.

Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities Collection 

Taylor & Francis Online is the home of over 2,400 online journals across Science, Technology and Medicine and Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities. The Social Sciences & Humanities Collection covers the subject areas like Anthropology & Archaeology, Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Psychology, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Sociology & Related Disciplines etc.

 

Login with your Library account when prompted to access the database.

 

Key journals

 

Login with your Library account when prompted to access the database.

Articles from journals that are not available in the library can be requested through article request service

Image result for DSpace

BSpace is the BUiD instituitional repository that has a collection of 900+ student’s works submitted electronically accessible through to the World Wide Web.

Search BUiD doctoral theses

Search BUiD masteral dissertations

Image result for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.

Subject coverage

  • Business and Economics
  • Medical Sciences
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Agriculture
  • Social Sciences
  • Arts
  • Humanities
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

PQDT Open

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access. 

The reading list provides you access to the materials recommended by your tutors. These include print/eBooks, articles, book chapters & conference papers. It links you directly to the readings in WorldCat and gives you real-time information about the availabilty of books. The articles can be downloaded using your Library account details. 

Select the module listed alphabetically to access the readings. 

Or type the course code (e.g. EDU 510) 

The National Science Digital Library

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings. Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).

Science in School

Science in School aims to promote inspiring science teaching by encouraging communication between teachers, scientists, and everyone else involved in European science education.

Disclaimer: *The University is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.