Skip to main content
Department: MSc Sustainable Design in the Built Environment
Module Description: The design of ‘environmentally friendly’ buildings depends critically on the choice of appropriate servicing strategies - an inappropriate servicing strategy can negate all the work undertaken on the form and fabric of the building. This module explores the principles behind current low energy solutions to servicing strategies, and deals with basic application information and strategies. Students will have an opportunity to extend their use of current environmental software to take into account service loads. The course is designed to complement information provided in all the other modules. In particular, ventilation system design is covered in detail elsewhere. Support for the learning will come from the module project.
- Ahuja, A. (1997). Integrated M/E design: building systems engineering. New York, N.Y.: Chapman & Hall.
- ASHRAE. (2013). ASHRAE guidelines: the commissioning process. Atlanta, GA: ASHRAE.
- Atkin, B. (2009). Total facilities management. 3rd edn. UK: Blackwell Publishing Limited.
- Awbi, H.B. (ed.). (2008). Ventilation systems: design and performance. Oxon, OX: Taylor & Francis.
- Bokalders, V. & Block, M. (2010). The whole building handbook: how to design healthy, efficient and sustainable buildings. 1st edn. London: Earthscan.
- Bownass, D.A. (2001). Building services design methodology: a practical guide. Oxon, OX: Taylor and Francis.
- Chanter, B. & Swallow, P. (2007). Building maintenance management. Oxford, UK: Blackwell.
- CIBSE. (2006). Environmental design: guides A. London: Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers.
- Deutsche Gesellschaft fur Sonnenenergie (DGS). (2013). Planning & installing photovoltaic systems: a guide to installer, architects and engineers. 3rd edn. London: Earthscan.
- Doty, S. & Turner, W.C. (2009). Energy management handbook. 7th edn. Lilburn, GA: The Fairmont Press.
- Gellings, C.W. (2009). The smart grid: enabling energy efficiency and demand response. Lilburn, GA: The Fairmont Press.
- Hall, F. & Greeno, R. (2009). Building services handbook. 5th edn. Amsterdam: Elsevier.
- Harvey, L.D.D. (2006). A handbook on low-energy buildings and district-energy systems: fundamentals, techniques and examples. London: Earthscan.
- Harvey, L.D.D (2010). Energy and the new reality 2: carbon-free energy supply. London: Earthscan.
- Hordeski. M.F. (2003). New technologies for energy efficiency. Lilburn, GA: Fairmont Press.
- International Energy Agency. (2003). Solar energy houses: strategies, technologies and examples. 2nd edn. London: James & James.
- Kreider, J.F., Curtiss, P.S. & Rabl, A. (2010). Heating and cooling of buildings, design for efficiency. 2nd edn. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
- Kreith, F. & Goswami, D.Y. (ed.). (2007). Handbook of energy efficiency and renewable energy. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
- Kreith, F. & Goswami, D.Y. (ed.). (2008). Energy management and conservation handbook. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
- Laughton, C. (2010). Solar domestic water heating: the Earthscan expert handbook for planning, design, and installation. London: Earthscan.
- Parsloe, C. (2005). Sustainable low energy cooling: an overview. London: CIBSE.
- Payant, R.P. & Lewis, B.T. (2007). Facility manager’s maintenance handbook. 2nd edn. New York: McGraw-Hill.
- Roulet, C. (2008). Ventilation and airflow in buildings: methods for diagnosis and evaluation. London, UK: Earthscan.
- Stein, B.; Reynolds, J.; Grondzik, W. and Kwok, A. (2015). Mechanical and electrical equipment for buildings. 12th edn. John Wiley and Sons.
- Teicholz, E. (ed.). (2001). Facility design and management handbook. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill.
- Thumann, A. & Mehta, D.P. (2013). Handbook of energy engineering. 7th edn. Lilburn, GA: Fairmont Press.
- Tymkow, P., Tassou, S., Kolokotroni, M. and Jouhara, H. (2013). Building services design for energy efficient buildings. Routledge.
- Vesilind, P.A., Morgan, S.M. & Heine, L.G. (2010). Introduction to environmental engineering. 3rd edn. Australia: Cengage Learning.
- Wood, B. (2009). Building maintenance. Chichester, UK: Blackwell.