Skip to main content

Library virtual assistance: Home

undefined

Popular eBooks

Free databases from publishers to support virtual learning during COVID-19


Free textbooks on ScienceDirect 

Elsevier has granted access to 256 textbooks  to support students and lecturers whose classes have moved from campus to online. See list of Free textbooks_ScienceDirect

To access the textbooks, click here and login using your Library account. You will reach the search page for ScienceDirect. Then type the name of the title from the given textbook list and click search. You will be able to download the book or the required chapters. See tipsheet 


Free eBooks from Springer

List of eBooks that can be downloaded for free from Springer. 


Free resources from Sage

SAGE Video

SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding.

SAGE Research Methods Video

This collection includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.

SAGE Knowledge

The premier social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press book, reference, and video content.


Open Educational Resources (OER)

ProQuest is launching a new Coronavirus Research Database, giving all ProQuest users no-cost access to full-text content covering all facets of COVID-19 and related infectious diseases.


ASTM Compass 

ASTM is classified as a public charity, private foundation or private operating foundation. One of the things the new ASTM UAE Chapter has already identified is the need for our standards in UAE academia as students with a knowledge and understanding of standards have a real advantage over those who do not. ASTM Compass includes online access to all ASTM standards, eBooks, journals & research data & comes with unlimited simultaneous users, downloads & prints. ASTM standards are used extensively in many areas of UAE industry including petroleum, civil engineering, testing, manufacturing, vendor assessment, procurement and of course academia etc. Register to access


Internet Archive (temporary National Emergency Library with unlimited access to around 1.4 million books from 1925-2014)

Signing up for an Internet Archive account is free and open to the world. Sign up to access https://archive.org/account/signup Please see details to learn more.


Britannica Academic (1 month trial access only-until 11th June 2020) 

The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopaedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research. Request access